

## Session Plan

## Role of Technology in Community Level Disaster Mitigation for Scientists & Technologists (25- 29 July, 2022)

Day/Date	Pre-Lunch Sessions						Post Lunch Sessions					
DAY 1 Monday 25-07-2022	0900-0955 hrs.	1000-1055 h	ırs.	1125-1225 hrs	1225-1300hrs.	Lunch Break 1300-1400 hrs.	1400-1450 hrs.	150	500-1550 hrs.		1630-1730 hrs.	
	Introduction to DM Act, 2005 and IRS (Pavan Kumar Singh)	Community E Disaster Ri Manageme (Sarabjit Sir Sahota)	ent sk en	Inaugural Session	Interaction with Participants		Science and Technology for Development of Rural Communities (Debapriya Dutta)	Action: Too for Cor Disaster	tory Learning and ols and Techniques mmunity Level r Risk Mitigation kjut, Jharkhand)	Tea Break 1600- 1630 hrs.	Participatory Learning and Action: Tools and Techniques for Community Level Disaster Risk Mitigation (Team Ekjut, Jharkhand)	
Day/Date	Pre-Lunch Sessions						Post Lunch Sessions					
	0930-1250 hrs.					Lunch Break 1330- 1430 hrs.	1430-1550 hrs.			ы. vi	1630-1730 hrs.	
DAY 2 Tuesday 26-07-2022	Village Visit Application of PLA Tools and Techniques for Development of Community Based Disaster Preparedness (CBDP) Plan & Group Presentations and Discussions (P K Tripathy; Nirmala Nair; Rajkumar Gope; Dhanashri Bagal from Team Ekjut & Snehasis Mishra, Varunendra V. Singh from BNY-CRS)						Group Activity Critical Analysis & Discussion on PLA Activity (Abhiram G Sankar; Ekta Uniyal from CDM, LBSNAA & P K Tripathy; Nirmala Nair; Rajkumar Gope; Dhanashi Bagal-Team Ekjut)			Tea Break 1600- 1630 hrs.	Visit to Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration (CDM, LBSNAA)	
Day/Date	Pre-Lunch Sessions						Post Lunch Sessions			ins		
DAY 3 Wednesday 27-07-2022	0930-1030 hrs.		1100-1155 hr	s. 1	200-1300 hrs.	Lunch Break 1300-1400 hrs.	1400-1515 hrs	15	520-1550 hrs.		1630-1730 hrs.	
	Transfer of Technolog from Lab to Land ar Knowledge Sharing Efficient Governanc (V. Thiruppugazh)	Tea Br 1030-110	Innovative a Local Solution Solve Problem Mountain Communitio (Sonam Wango	ns to Disa ns of A Cas	aster Response: e study on Gujarat Floods anjay J. Joshi)		Office Disaster Management Planning (ODMP) (Vishal Vasvani)	g Fire S (Fire Se	Mock drill on afety and Search and Rescue and Emergency rvices & ITBP, Mussoorie)	Tea Break 1600- 1630 hrs.	Visit to George Everest Heritage Park (CDM, LBSNAA)	
Day/Date	Pre-Lunch Sessions						Post Lunch Sessions					
DAY 4 Thursday 28-07-2022	1000-1030 hrs.	1030-1	130 hrs.	Tea Break Demo Demo 1145 hrs. 1130–1145 hrs. Demo Demo Demo Demo Demo Demo Demo Demo	1145-1300 hrs.		1400-1515 hrs.		1515-1530 hrs.	ú	1600-1730 hrs.	
	Academic Activities of IIRS (Pramod Kumar)	Technology Risk Re	Application of Geospatial Technology for Disaster Risk Reduction (Arijit Roy)		Distration on ISRO Geoportals for alizing, accessing ecision making for DRR activities (C. M. Bhatt)	Lunch Break 1330- 1415 hr	Overview and Demons on Forest Fire Risk Ac Management System ( (Harish C. Karnata	dvisory FRAMS)	Open Discussion (Participants & Faculty)	Tea Break 1530- 1600 hrs.	Visit to Forest Research Institute (FRI) (CDM, LBSNAA)	
Day/Date		Pre-Lunch Sessions										
	0900-0955 hrs. 1000-1055				1055 hrs.	က်	1130-1225 hrs.				1230-1330 hrs.	
DAY 5 Friday 29-07-2022	Future of Solar Power Generation in India: Role of scientific Institutions in the Net Zero Era (Upendra Tripathy)			Management of Extremely Severe Cyclone Storms in Odisha-Use of Technology, Teamwork, Transparency (Dr. Kamal Lochan Mishra)		Tea Break 1100- 1130 hrs.	Climate Smart Technologies and Resilient Practices: National Innovations in Climate Resilient Agriculture (Ch. Srinivasa Rao)				Valediction	

## **Details of the Resource Persons and Guests**

- 1. Dr. Srivari Chandrasekhar, Secretary, Department of Science & Technology (DST), Government of India, New Delhi
- 2. Shri Srinivas R. Katikithala IAS, Director, Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration, Mussoorie
- 3. Shri Upendra Tripathy, IAS (retd.), Honorary Principal Advisor (Education) to Hon'ble CM, Odisha & Adviser, Odisha Adasha Vidyalaya Sangathan, Government of Odisha, Bhubaneswar & Former & Founding Director-General, International Solar Alliance & Former Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy
- 4. Dr. V. Thiruppugazh, IAS (retd.), Former Additional Secretary, National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA), Govt. of India, New Delhi
- 5. Shri Sonam Wangchuk, Founding Director, Himalayan Institute of Alternatives, Ladakh
- 6. Dr. Ch. Srinivasa Rao, Director, ICAR-National Academy of Agricultural Research Management (NAARM), Rajendranagar, Hyderabad
- 7. Dr. Debapriya Dutta, Scientist-G & Adviser & Head, Mission Societal-Science for Equity Empowerment and Development (SEED) & Nano Mission-National Supercomputing Mission (NM-NSM) & State Science & Technology Programme (SSTP), Department of Science & Technology, Government of India, New Delhi
- 8. Dr. Pramod Kumar, Dean (Academic), Indian Institute of Remote Sensing (IIRS), ISRO, Department of Space, Dehradun
- 9. Shri Sarabjit Singh Sahota, Emergency Specialist, Disaster Risk Reduction Section, United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF), India New Delhi
- 10. Dr. Prasanta Tripathy; Dr. Nirmala Nair (Secretary); Rajkumar Gope (Team Lead); Dr. Dhanashri Bagal from Team Ekjut, Jharkhand
- 11. Mr. Snehasis Mishra (Assistant Professor) and Dr. Varunendra V. Singh (Assistant Professor) from BNY-CRS, LBSNAA, Mussoorie
- 12. Dr. Kamal Lochan Mishra, IAS, Collector & District Magistrate, Nabarangpur, Govt. of Odisha
- 13. Dr. Sanjay J. Joshi, Professor Political Theory and Constitutional Law, Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration, Mussoorie
- 14. Dr. Pavan Kumar Singh, Joint Advisor (Ops), National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA), Govt. of India, New Delhi
- 15. Dr. Harish Chandra Karnatak, Scientist/Engineer SG & Head, Geoweb Services, IT & Distance Learning Department, Geospatial Technologies and Outreach Programme Group, Indian Institute of Remote Sensing (IIRS), ISRO, Department of Space, Dehradun
- 16. Dr. Arijit Roy, Scientist SG & Head, Disaster Management Studies (DMS) Dept., Indian Institute of Remote Sensing (IIRS), ISRO, Department of Space, Dehradun
- 17. Mr. CM Bhatt, Scientist/Engineer SF, Disaster Management Studies (DMS) Dept., Indian Institute of Remote Sensing (IIRS), ISRO, Department of Space, Dehradun
- 18. Shri Vishal Vasvani, Emergency Officer, United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF), UNICEF Office for Chattisgarh, Raipur
- 19. Shri Abhiram G Sankar, IAS, Director, CDM & Deputy Director, Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration, Mussoorie
- 20. Dr. Ekta Uniyal Assistant Director, Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration, Mussoorie
- 21. Dr. Pankaj Kumar Singh, Associate Professor, CDM, Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration, Mussoorie
- 22. Dr. Pasala Eswara Rao, Research Officer, CDM, Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration, Mussoorie
- 23. Officers from Fire and Emergency Services & ITBP, Mussoorie